Women of Achievement Recognized by WISC

A program of awards has been established to recognize women of achievement, “past, present and future”. The "Past" awards are posthumous, and recognize women of the past for their achievements. The "Present" lifetime achievement awards recognize the accomplishments of today’s women. The first of these, the Founder's Award, was presented to the author, journalist and biographer Gail Sheehy as part of The Founding on June 23, 2013. The "Future" awards honor young artists, scientists, historians, preservationists or businesswomen who, early in their careers, have made remarkable contributions and show great promise. This program is designed to recognize the continuum of women's achievements - looking to the past for inspiration, to the present for affirmation, and to a future of aspiration and promise.  

Founders' Award

  • 2013: Gail Sheehy
  • 2014: Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg
  • 2015: The National Museum of Women in the Arts, accepted on behalf of the museum by Director Susan Fisher Sterling
  • 2016: Ellen Malcolm
  • 2017: Tarja Halonen and Halla Tómasdóttir